G20 Summit 2023 New Delhi: Priorities, Agenda, and India’s Presidency under ‘One Earth · One Family · One Future‘

G20 Summit 2023

The G20 is an international forum consisting of 19 countries and the European Union, representing the world’s largest economies. The G20’s primary aim is to promote international financial stability and sustainable economic growth through policy coordination and cooperation. Every year, a G20 summit is held, and the host nation takes on the responsibility of guiding the G20’s agenda for the year. In 2023, the G20 New Delhi Summit will be chaired by the Indian Prime Minister, Narendra Modi.

India’s presidency began on 1 December 2022. It will lead up to the summit in the third quarter of 2023. The presidency handover ceremony was held as an intimate event, in which the G20 Presidency gavel was transferred from Indonesian President Joko Widodo to Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the close of the Bali summit. Indonesia held the presidency in 2022.

The India G20 Presidency has set the theme of “Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam” or “One Earth · One Family · One Future.” This theme is derived from the Sanskrit phrase of the Maha Upanishad. It emphasizes the interconnectedness of all life on the planet Earth and in the wider universe.

The India G20 Presidency has put forth six agenda priorities for the G20 dialogue in 2023:

  1. Green Development, Climate Finance & Life
  2. Accelerated, Inclusive & Resilient Growth
  3. Accelerating progress on SDGs
  4. Technological Transformation & Digital Public Infrastructure
  5. Multilateral Institutions for the 21st century
  6. Women-led development

Originally, India was scheduled to host the G20 summit in 2021, and Italy in 2022. However, after a request made by Indonesian Foreign Minister Retno Marsudi, India exchanged its presidency of the G-20 with Indonesia because Indonesia would also chair the Association of Southeast Asian Nations in 2023.

The G20 New Delhi Summit is scheduled to be held from 9 to 10 September 2023 in Delhi. The summit will bring together the leaders of the 19 member countries and the European Union to discuss and coordinate on the global economic agenda.

The countries Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, South Korea, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States,The European Union are included in The G20 Summit 2023.

In conclusion, India’s G20 Presidency in 2023 represents an opportunity to focus on promoting sustainable and inclusive economic growth. And advancing the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals. The G20 New Delhi Summit will provide a platform for leaders to discuss and coordinate on the global economic agenda and strengthen multilateral cooperation.

Written by